Pakistan Super League Seven kicks off with colorful opening ceremony

The seventh season of Pakistan Super League (PSL) has started in which six franchise teams will face each other for the title while Multan Sultans will defend the title.

Singer Atif Aslam and Aima Baig entertained the audience by singing the theme song of PSL in a colorful ceremony held at the National Stadium in Karachi on Sunday after which the message of Prime Minister Imran Khan was displayed on the big screen installed in the stadium.

A total of 34 matches will be played in the month-long event. The league is divided into two parts. In the first part, matches will be played in Karachi from January 27 to February 7, after which all the teams will travel to Lahore where the second phase of the event will start on February 10.

15 matches of the event will be played in Karachi while 19 matches will be played at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

After 10 league matches in Lahore, qualifiers, both eliminators will be matches and this knockout stage will start on 23rd February. The final of the event will be played on February 27 at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore between the two best teams.

Strict security arrangements have also been made for PSL 7. Many avenues leading to the National Stadium in Karachi have been closed. Is.

For security, heavy contingents of Pakistan Army, Rangers and Police have been deployed around the stadium and teams have been deployed on the route from the hotel to the stadium.

Even before the launch of PSL 7, the corona virus has been confirmed in the players of many teams, due to which the PSL management has developed an alternative strategy.

Under the new law, if the corona tests of at least 13 players of a team are negative, then the match will not be canceled.

In the event of a player's corona test being positive, the said team can add any player in the pool of substitutes to the squad with the permission of the PSL technical committee.

PSL: Who has been successful in past editions?

There have been six editions of Pakistan Super League so far. Five teams have so far won the trophy. Each team has won the trophy at least once but Islamabad United is the only team to have won the PSL twice and Lahore Qalandars could not win any title.

Islamabad United won the first edition in 2016 and the third edition in 2018. The winner of PSL II was Peshawar Zalmi while the crown of the fourth PSL was on the head of Quetta Gladiators.

For the first time in the PSL held in the year 2020, the team of Karachi Kings reached the final and also won the trophy. Currently the defending champion of PSL is the team of Multan Sultans who participated in the event for the first time in 2018 and won the title in only the fourth attempt.

. (tagsToTranslate) News (t) Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button